Where thoust my sword?, for I am online; SAO review


In the year 2022, virtual reality has progressed by leaps and bounds, and a massive online role-playing game called Sword Art Online (SAO) is launched. With the aid of “NerveGear” technology, players can control their avatars within the game using nothing but their own thoughts. Kazuto Kirigaya, nicknamed “Kirito,” is among the lucky few enthusiasts who get their hands on the first shipment of the game. He logs in to find himself, with ten-thousand others, in the scenic and elaborate world of Aincrad, one full of fantastic medieval weapons and gruesome monsters.

I’d rather die with someone than let that person die before my eyes. More so if she’s a girl like you

— Kirito

Normally I aim to have a balanced point of view on things. But unfortunately my biasness is kicking in. And so why fight it. Here we go, the problem with SAO from the offest is the world. It uses a very primitive or an archaic system of what was used in MMO’. If anything it uses the traditional JRPG system (and even then it isn’t very good). Now comes the BIGGEST problem(s).

The characters. Oh boy….where do I start with this. Kirito…such blandness it is actually cool to be him. Having no personality makes him a chick magnet. Seriously, nice guys who have bland personalities would be swimming in having female attention by this logic. The power..sorry powah of this character is on the same scale as He-man, with the reaction speed of Bruce Lee. How does he beat 10+ guys and still win?. You couldn’t meet a more over powered character. Sorry that’s level difference to us haters. Let me put this in to perspective. If Kirito is at lvl 100, whilst his opponent is at lvl 89. Stats wise, he has the advantage. And can beat that opponent. But if he is facing players of similar level…how in gods name can he beat all of them?. Most of the time, single handily.

I’ve done open world pvp and believe me it ain’t that easy, when you got a zerg / mob on your ass. Sure beat 2 or even 3 depending on your skill and build – and that’s if you’re facing roamer. Either he is over powered, or the rest of them are just noobs. Incompetent players…. sorry noobs. As for Asuna. Yeah…..fan service. And even more fan service. Starts strong then goes to pot in the second half of the first series. And practically non-existent in first half of season 2, then have a weak second half.  Urgh… here are the positives & negatives before I go on a tirade.

Positives:

  • Art
  • World of Aincard & the rest of the MMO world they go to
  • Classes
  • OP & ED
  • Fight scenes

Negatives:

  • Bland, no personality male lead
  • Over powered…level difference…same thing. No use of level scaling
  • Asuna started out strong….then went to pot. Then became fan service
  • Kirito gets a harem for doing very little
  • Girls fall for Kirito despite not having a personality
  • MMO system is archaic
  • Season II was just boring
  • How did Kirito find Sinon rl address – and get there in time?.
  • Kirito is somewhat sexist since he went “easy” on Yukino – as she is a girl. A competent player as well.

Overall Grade: E


 Let me know in the comment section!.

14 thoughts on “Where thoust my sword?, for I am online; SAO review

  1. Very nice review. Your line of thinking about SAO is similar to mine. People seem to absolutely love it or think it is god awful, but personally, it was okay for me. I’m not sure if I’d watch it again, but I wasn’t thinking “when will this end already” either.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yeah? I’ll look it up. I thought the premise for SAO was great, just… bit lacking overall. Log Horizon is about a virtual game world too?

        Like

      2. Yeah, they are stuck in the virtual world. Unlike SAO, they try to deal with social problems, ecconmic problems, laws and rules etc whilst living in the virtual world. And they also use MMO mechanics as well. you could also try out the sister series to SAO, Accel World. The main male lead isn’t to everyone’s taste though.

        Like

  2. Yeah I heard this series got issues with Kirito always being the chick magnet. Funny that he shows off his charms when he first met Leafa even though he is married to Asuna.
    Still, regardless, I like this anime for the music and the video game themes.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I can see why people would say that about the characterization. I think this is where people will also say that the books offer more than the anime. I still need to read the light novel books.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Well it’s not like SAO is the only anime that has a bland male lead who chicks cannot resist 🙂

    If you dislike Kirito always winning you’ll be pleased to hear that in the final story arc of season two he meets his match.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m eventually going to review this series and I’m certain I’m going to get a thousand people telling me I’m wrong, but I like this series. I find Kirito quite interesting and nuanced (particularly during the first arc though admittedly after the first arc most elements of the story take a nose dive).
    Have to completely agree with you on Asuna though. Introduce a strong female character and then literally turn her into the Princess locked in a tower? Seriously.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. The author had to do a rewrite, since the characterisation was so bad in the light novel. Some people (mostly young teen boys) liked Kirito. As he pretty much was a wishfulfiment role for them. Yeah Asuna got pretty wrecked after the first cour.

      Liked by 1 person

Your scribblez on the wall

