Spring / Summer first impression: Amanchu!


Taking a deep breath, before the plunge. For the ocean waves will take me away, to see the world that is unseen. Concealing beauty deep within For someone who can’t swim (such a land lubber). I find amanchu very interesting. Amanchu tells the story of two girls. Hikari “Pikari” Kohinata, a diving enthusiast and Futaba “Teko” Ooki, a city girl. Two very different worlds no doubt. However, they are joined in exploring a new world. One under the sea (no pun from the little mermaid) and the other….school life. How will the two girls get by?.

From the get go, the girl that really stands out is Pikari. Her personality is just charming. I do mean that. Her enthusiasm and her ability to just bring a mundane thing to life is refreshing. It isn’t too over the top either. Teko is someone that can either frustrate you, or you’ll just ignore. For me though her shy demeanour compliments Pikari. And they work with each other. Both highlighting each others strengths. And that is really nice to see.

In fact the episodes watched (1-3) has this really nice, gentle atmosphere. Just like the ocean itself. Of course the ocean can get pretty rough / stormy weather. So maybe there might be some rough times for our two leading ladies?. I do like the two leads by the way.

The real steal of the show is the art. They are just gorgeous to look at. JC Staff have really out done themselves.

For me, this anime is a:


Priority: High


Screen-shot Gallery:
Gallery 1:

amanchu - 2

amanchu - 4

Gallery 2:

amanchu - 5

amanchu - 6

—-

Have you seen this show?. If so, what are your impressions of it?. What did you like / dislike about the show. If you haven’t, would you consider watching this show?. Let me know down in the comments section below.

8 thoughts on “Spring / Summer first impression: Amanchu!

  1. I still haven’t started this. I’m thinking it will probably replace one of my dropped shows at mid-season (at least I’ll take a look) because I’ve now read a lot of positive impressions about this series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice, concise write-up and I’m still waffling as to whether or not I should pick the show up. From the accounts I’ve read it sounds like its in a similar vein to Amano Kozue’s other work in Aria and that’s pretty promising. If I do come to pick up the show, I think it’ll have to be because of those ridiculous faces – it seems like a lot of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It wouldn’t hurt to give the 1st epi a try. If not to your liking, that’s fine. The art is just gorgeous to look at. If you enjoyed Amano’ other works then this is pretty much a given.

      Like

  3. That’s lovely. I’m on the look out for animes that are fun, and ” decent “. I don’t like to use the word ” decent”. It makes me sound like a stuck -up person , which I’m not. But some animes do make me cringe, and I really believe anime creators/developers should stop it already. I understand that those who make this kind of anime have a captive audience, so yeah , this stuff works for them .

    Oooops, I think I ranted. lol

    Cheers, Rocco.

    Liked by 1 person

Your scribblez on the wall

