Seasonal Summary: Spring / Summer anime 2015 Round Up

Well folks now that the spring / summer season is pretty much over. Whilst I tried to get through as much as I can. I didn’t get through as much as I should have. You’ll expect some of the animes that were airing in the Spring / Summer episode reviews being posted on here. I’ll be honest I didn’t really think of doing them till much later, lol!!. Or was just being lazy and didn’t continue with them, but got off my lazy rear end now xDD.  Along with some new animes for the Autumn / Winter line-up which have caught my attention. So here’s hoping that some episodic reviews will come out. And that’s hoping *fingers crossed* as I’ll explain why.

Later this month (around 23rd) and throughout Nov, my postings will slow down considerably. This is due to GW (guild wars) 2 new expansion coming out and taking up my attention and time. As some of the new followers may not know, I’m an MMO player. Who regularly plays this game. And have heavily invested in it. With all new things to do and with raids and guild halls being announced, my blog will certainly suffer for this :(. But I will try to post as much as I can. As explained above I have some episodic reviews that I will try to fit in during the week.

So with out further a do, let’s take a look back on some of the anime that aired this Spring / Summer.

Overlord

I thoroughly enjoyed this MMO-esq anime. Having an over powered player who is overtly cautious, is pretty interesting. The non-human NPC characters and their dynamics is pretty enjoyable. Hamuske, the mount / pet is pretty cute. I’m doing episodic review on it, even though I’m taking my sweet time on it. And the series has ended. But hey, have some fun posting them : D.

Charlotte

This anime started off pretty good, then it went down hill to the point of being a disappointment. The super-powers of the week kept it interesting. But the underlying story line was heavily rushed. The last episode rushed and with it’s deus ex machina, just buried it.

Ore Monogatari

Well not much to say on this anime, since I’ve done a review on it : D.

Classroom Crisis

It was interesting at first with all these political intrigues. But then I just lost interest in it. And I really can’t say much on it.

Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou

This ecchi anime is pretty amusing. The girls are all besotted with “darling” – kun. And they are all monsters. With serious plot armour for darling-kun, life with monster girls had its amusement and their antics, especially Mia and her inability to cook anything eligible.

Arslan Senki

This anime is a stand out for me. Even though the series dipped with the boring Shindra side arc (even in the OVA, this arc bored me). Can’t wait for the second season. The openings and endings are my favourites for this season (yes you read that right, all the opening and endings).

Wakako-zake

A short that is actually pretty good. You see Wakako going to eateries. Trying out the delicacies of the eatery that she has gone in to, with some beverage of her choice. Some would say that its no better than a cookery show. Well this is a cookery show of sorts. I didn’t realise this series ended, with only 12 episodes.

God Eater

A series that has been hampered by the games publisher – the episodes are coming out much slower. I have to say, this anime has really took off for me. I was sceptical at first, since most games to anime conversion just stink. But this is handled exceptionally well.

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime

I’m actually still watching this. But from the impression I’ve gotten. It’s really nice and enjoyable. Every time I watch this, I keep thinking this is like a Studio Ghibli animation.

Fate Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works

Did a review on this. Need I say more xDD.

Owari no Seraph

With the first half being a let down. And with the second half of the season airing now. It was a crying shame that a story with potential be handled so badly by the studio who did AoT.

Re-Kan

As I said on the Spring round up. This anime is really sweet and you can’t go wrong with that. At times it can hit the feels. But I doubt there will be a second season. A very under-rated anime.

Other animes: 

  • Rokka no Yuusha – haven’t gotten around to watching it. But it looks good.
  • Chaos Dragon – lost interest in the first episode.
  • Aquarian logos – caught my interest but didn’t make my watch list. Will be viewing this.
  • Gangsta – a break out anime. But it didn’t catch my interest.
  • Prison School – didn’t catch my interest.
  • Jitsu wa Watashi wa – didn’t make to my watch list. Looks interesting enough.
  • – looks interesting enough, but didn’t make it to my watch list.
  • Dragon ball super – still watching this.
  • – this is still on watch list. Just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Well there were more on the list. However I don’t want to make this summary round up longer than it should be. The season certainly had some stinkers and some real gems. With few continuing on throughout the Autumn / Winter season.

I hope you enjoyed the Spring / Season line up whichever ones they may be. So I’ll catch you next time guys.

5 thoughts on “Seasonal Summary: Spring / Summer anime 2015 Round Up

  1. I’m so tempted to start God Eater but then I’m like, isn’t there other ways I could be spending my time? It’s a shame what happened to Charlotte based on everything I’ve heard and the negative/ slightly positive feedback.
    You liked Arslan that much?!? Woah, maybe there was something I missed, because I wasn’t too impressed. I mean, guess the characters were really cool, and the OPs and EDs omg were the best by far, only maybe second to Unlimited Blade Works :3

    Like

    1. So much promise and just a let down in the end for Charlotte. It was pretty rushed as well. You should give god eater a shot. It took me by surprise, and I’m enjoying it. The art style is interesting as well. I think they used a cell shading art style. Arslan, for most would be an acquired taste. It is pretty much a very slow anime. I’m pretty much spoilt so I kind of know where the story is heading xDD. Yeah the OPs and EDs were some of the best.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh, yay, someone else enjoyed Wakako-zake for what it was! I really liked it too; I related to the character a lot, too. XD

    God Eater surprised me too; I was let down by the first episode but it improved later on and I’m interested to see where it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup Wakako-Zake was a surprising little hit :D. The 1st episode was a little slow, but yeah it improved later on. Koto & Sakuya are my favourites so far. Lenka is alright. Lindow just oozes coolness. Soma is the dark horse. Alisa, is an interesting character. With her break downs and exposition dumps, she makes a good foil for Lenka imo.

      Liked by 1 person

Your scribblez on the wall

